NYC Food Tour: Spot Dessert Bar, Ramen, Sushi Burrito, and More! 


In my opinion, one of the best things of living in New York is the abundance of amazing food everywhere I go! I am definitely a food lover, so I want to try out as much as I can even though I’m gaining weight lol. I decided to make this post to share with all of you several places that I have eaten at lately!

Eggloo – 60 Mulberry St, New York, NY 10013


What I got: Eggloo sundae with a green tea waffle, taro soft serve, mochi, almonds, and condensed milk

Price: $8

Eggloo has gotten pretty popular lately for their Hong Kong style egg waffle ice cream cones! If you follow me on Instagram, you may have seen my picture of the ice cream I got here! You are allowed to choose either an original, green tea, or chocolate waffle, an ice cream flavor, and unlimited toppings. I recommend that you go for the sundae instead of the cone since it is much bigger and you have more ice cream choices for the same price!

Udon West- 150 E 46th St, New York, NY 10017

IMG_7408.JPG

What I got: Combo with chicken katsu don and curry udon

Price: $15.50

The combo set is supposed to be $12.50, but I asked if I could get curry udon instead thinking that it would be the same price, but they added an additional $3. I have to say that the waitress here was very rude. She got annoyed quickly and didn’t provide good service. However, the food was pretty good! The chicken katsu don was very juicy and tender on the inside while still crispy on the outside. The udon noodles were chewy and the curry soup was flavorful.

Two Bros Pizza – 32 Saint Marks Place New York NY 10003

091508pizzaslice

image source: slice.seriouseats.com

What I got: Cheese slice

Price: $1

Two Bros Pizza is well known for having good pizza for only $1 a slice! Many places in NYC sell a slice for only a buck, but many of them taste horrible. Two Bros Pizza actually tastes pretty good! I wouldn’t say it’s the best pizza ever, but for only $1, it’s definitely worth it!

Spot Dessert Bar – 13 St Marks Pl, New York, NY 10003

What I got: The harvest, chocolate green tea lava cake, green tea & passion fruit raspberry macaron, lychee matcha bubble tea, green tea milk bubble tea

Price: ~$32 for 2

I think Spot puts so much attention into its presentation and the desserts here look absolutely amazing, but that is definitely reflected in the high prices. I got a dessert called The Harvest, which looks just like a plant, but it is actually made out of cheesecake, berries, and oreo crumbs. It tasted pretty good, but it wasn’t amazing or anything. It came with a raspberry sorbet on the side, but it was extremely sour. On the other hand, the green tea lava cake was so good! The warm rich chocolate and matcha lava just oozes out and it just tastes amazing. They had some unique bubble tea flavors like the lychee matcha bubble tea, but it was way too sweet for me. The macarons were also on the sweet side. Overall, I think it was a fun experience, but to be honest, I think Spot is overrated. Their food was not worth the high prices.

Kang Ho Dong Baekjeong – 1 E 32nd St, New York, NY 10016

IMG_7422.JPG

What I got: Beef combo (came with sliced brisket, prime short rib, rib eye, soybean paste stew) & pork combo (came with pork belly, pork jowl, sliced spicy pork belly, soybean paste stew)

Price: $257 for 8

Located in NYC’s Koreatown, this KBBQ place is extremely busy. If you plan on coming here, definitely get here early. I got here at 5 pm and I already had to wait a bit. Just like other Korean restaurants, the food came with a variety of free side dishes which include kimchi, radish, tofu, spicy salad, and fish cake. These are all unlimited, so we kept asking the waiter for more and more. All of the meat is cooked by the server, so you can just relax and eat! The meat was super tender and flavorful, but I think my favorite was probably the short rib or galbi. On the sides of the grill, they also had steamed egg with cheese and some corn cheese, which were also unlimited. I really recommend this place to anyone who loves KBBQ (which should be everyone!)

 

 

JP Street – 52 E 8th St, New York, NY 10003

FullSizeRender (8).jpg

What I got: Sea dragon sushi burrito (shrimp tempura, avocado,  imitation crab, egg, eel)

Price: $12.95

Lately, the Asian fusion trend has been growing especially with the sushi burrito, so when I saw this place, I just had to try it out. It was quite pricey for the size. It seemed just like a sushi roll, but before it was cut up. The taste was pretty good, but nothing special. It tasted just like your average shrimp tempura and eel sushi.

Boka – 9 St Marks Pl, New York, NY 10003

IMG_7418.JPG

What I got: 6 pcs soy garlic Korean fried chicken, octopus hot stone bibimbap

Price: $18

I seriously am in love with this place’s fried chicken! It came out hot and fresh from the fryer. The skin was extremely crispy with a light batter and the meat was juicy and tender. But the best part was probably the savory sauce! The bibimbap was too spicy for me, so I can’t really give my opinion on whether it was good or not, since I was sweating like crazy while eating it. I came here to eat at around noon and the place was pretty much empty. I really believe that his place is not getting the recognition it deserves for its food! Not to mention, the service was also great and waiters were super friendly!

Ippudo – 65 4th Ave, New York, NY 10003

FullSizeRender (9).jpg

What I got: Lunch set (came with Akamaru Modern ramen, small salad, and pork soboro rice bowl)

Price: $18

Many of friends were raving about this place, so I had to try out their ramen! The Akamaru Modern ramen came with Tonkotsu (pork) soup noodles, miso paste, pork chashu, cabbage, kikurage mushrooms and scallions. The ramen noodles were cooked perfectly to my taste and the broth was so flavorful! Even though the ramen was supposed to be the main dish, I actually liked the pork rice bowl more. It was pretty simple with just some minced pork over a bed of white rice, but the pork had a wonderful sweet and savory flavor! The salad was served with some sort of a miso and wasabi dressing that tasted good as well.

I still have more food places to share with you all, so stay tuned for my part 2!

 

 

5 thoughts on “NYC Food Tour: Spot Dessert Bar, Ramen, Sushi Burrito, and More! 

Comment! ^-^

