NYC Food Tour Part 2 – Ramen burger, Tacos & More!


I just had so many food places to share with all of you that I couldn’t fit it all in one post, so I decided to divide it up into two. Here is part 2 of the amazing food adventures I had in New York City!

Fresh & Co. – 58 E 8th Street


What I got: Burrito Grain Bowl & Bangkok Grain Bowl

Price: $8.50 (burrito), $10.75 (Bangkok)

After all the greasy and unhealthy foods I have been eating lately, I realized that I needed break, so I decided to try out Fresh & Co. They specialize in preparing meals with nutritious and fresh ingredients. I love how they have all the calorie counts listed for each of the menu items. I first ordered the burrito grain bowl and came again another day to try the Bangkok one since it tasted pretty good! None of the flavor was sacrificed even though it was healthier. My only complaint is that it is quite pricey.

Los Tacos No. 1 – Chelsea Market, 75 9th Ave, New York, NY 10011

FullSizeRender (10).jpg

What I got: Carne Asada  (Grilled Steak) Taco & Pollo Asado (Grilled Chicken) Taco

Price: $7.25 for both

My friend kept telling me how good these tacos were and believe it or not, but I have never actually had a real authentic taco before, so I just had to try them out. In all of Chelsea Market, I would definitely say that this store had the longest line. It is an extremely fast-paced food stand with workers yelling out orders as they try to serve the seemingly never ending line of customers.The steak and chicken tacos that I ordered came with a flour tortilla, guacamole, and your choice of salsa. Both of them tasted absolutely amazing, but I preferred the chicken one! The steak had a bit of heat to it and was a little tough to chew, but the chicken had a wonderful grilled charcoal taste and was juicy!

Grace Street – 17 W 32nd St, New York, NY 10001

What I got: OG shaved ice (black sesame ice, mochi, red bean), Cookie Monster shaved ice (vanilla ice, whip cream, m&ms, oreo crumbs), mochi waffle, hodduk, Thai iced tea

Price: ~$50 for 5 people

Grace Street is a Korean dessert cafe that is pretty popular in Koreatown. The OG shaved ice was much better than the Cookie Monster one in my opinion. It was so refreshing and the black sesame flavor was so fragrant! However, it was pretty expensive. It wasn’t that big and it cost over $10. The mochi waffle was pretty average. I expected it to have a more chewy texture from the mochiko flour, but it tasted like a regular waffle to me. The hodduk (Korean pancake) was really good! It was crispy and deep fried on the exterior and the warm brown sugar filling was dripping out of the center. I think that there are many other places with a better shaved ice than here for a better price, but I would definitely recommend the hodduk!

Hakata Hot Pot & Zen 6 – 31 St Marks Pl, New York, NY 10003

IMG_7510.JPG

What I got: Ramen burger, Shiitake Mushroom buns, Chicken Okonomiyaki

Price: ~$27

This place was just a restaurant that a couple of friends and I happened to come across and decided to try out. The menu offered quite a variety of food, so I ordered way to much food just because I wanted to try everything! After this meal, I felt so sick and completely stuffed. (Sorry, I didn’t get to take a picture of everything.) I was actually really excited for the ramen burger, which became popular and famous at the Smorgasburg food fair. However, the ramen burger I got honestly tasted like shit. The meat patty was rubbery and the ramen buns were mushy. I can’t believe I paid $8 for this. The shiitake mushroom buns were pretty good though. They definitely weren’t the best, but the flavor was good and the buns were fluffy. The okonomiyaki came on this unique hot plate that looked promising. The bonito flakes on top were moving around from the heat of the pancake, and I was excited to eat this. When I took my first bite, I almost spit it out. It was crazy salty! I don’t know exactly what sauce they put on top, but it was drenched and made it soooo salty. I ended up eating the entire thing anyways since I just can’t make myself waste food for some weird reason. Seriously, this was one of the worst meals I have ever had. $30 gone.

Ray’s Pizza – St Marks Hotel, 2 St Marks Pl, New York, NY 10003

IMG_7470.JPG

What I got: Cheese slice with chicken

Price: $3.45

After getting decent pizza for only $1 at Two Bros Pizza, which I talked about it part 1 of my food tour, I was definitely going to compare this one with that. This cost more than 3 times as much, so I was expecting it to be better. The pizza was not bad, but I actually preferred the $1 slice more! The chicken kind of distracted me from the pizza itself, and the crust was too thick for my taste.

Well, that’s it for my food tour of NYC!! I hope you guys enjoyed it! All my friends thought I was crazy for frantically trying to get good pictures of everything I ate, but I was just really excited to share all the food with you! Please let me know if you want more of these kind of posts in the future!

Check out Part 1 of my NYC food tour!

Have any of you guys tried out any of this food before? Which one of these do you want to try out the most?

2 thoughts on “NYC Food Tour Part 2 – Ramen burger, Tacos & More!

Comment! ^-^

