NYX Mini Makeup Haul & Reviews

IMG_0251logocropped.jpg

While doing some shopping at the mall, I stopped by NYX to get my makeup fix. This was actually my first time purchasing anything from this brand, but it’s a very well-known and affordable makeup brand!

IMG_0251.JPG

Products I Got:

Velvet Matte Lipstick 06 Soft Femme – $7

Micro Brow Pencil 01 Taupe – $10

Retractable Eye Liner 02 Black – $4.50

As you can see, all of these products are extremely affordable! Let’s just see if they can deliver in terms of quality as well!

Velvet Matte Lipstick 06 Soft Femme

nyxlipstickcollage

Description:

Dress your lips in decadent color with our Velvet Matte Lipstick–a luxurious new lip color that glides right on and never feels dry. Housed in an elegant soft-touch case, each standout shade is a fashion statement in itself.

Matte lips are all the rave nowadays, so I decided to pick one up! My lips are naturally already quite pigmented, so I chose this gorgeous dusty rose nude shade to match my natural color. Since I am still a student, I wanted to go for a color that would not stand out too much, and this did the job! I love how creamy and smooth this lipstick just glides on! It isn’t too drying, but be sure to apply a moisturizing lip balm before using this or it will sit in your dry skin. I am completely in love with this color, but the problem I have with this lipstick is that it transfers and smudges a lot. After taking a sip of water it leaves a very obvious mark on the cup and the color just comes off very quickly. So if you are looking for a long-lasting lipstick, skip this one!

Micro Brow Pencil 01 Taupe

nyxeyebrowcollage.jpg

Description:

Build full beautiful brows with our ultra-thin Micro Brow Pencil. So precise it coats even the finest hairs with color for a natural-looking finish.

Ever since I was gifted the Dior Brow Styler Ultra-Fine Pencil for Christmas and fell in love with it, I’ve been looking for a dupe. The Dior brow pencil costs a relatively high $29, so I was hoping to find something similar but for a more affordable price, so when I saw this for only $10 at NYX, I decided to give it a go! I also picked a shade that is almost identical to the Dior one. This shade looks very natural and blends in extremely naturally with my brows! The thin tip allows me to individually draw in each hair, giving off an effortless, natural look. However, I feel that this pencil isn’t as smooth and pigmented. I find that I have to press much harder and use a lot more product to achieve the color that I want. So is $10 really saving much if I use a lot more product?

Retractable Eyeliner 01 Black

nyxeyelinercollage.jpg

Description:

Twist and shout! Renowned for its extreme lasting power this creamy liner delivers intense pigmentation and precise application in an easy twist-up tube that never needs sharpening.

The best thing about this eyeliner is most definitely how pigmented and creamy this eyeliner! Even if I draw with a gentle hand, the color is just like BAM! (sorry, the best way I could put it!) Although it claims to never need sharpening, I think it does. As I use it, the point dulls and I can’t draw lines precisely. In addition, this eyeliner smudges A LOT! I applied a very minimal amount on my upper eyelids just to bring some definition to my eyes and it somehow ended up under my eyes! While in the bathroom at school, I looked in the mirror and to my horror, I found that it definitely did not look attractive! I was so embarrassed; Did I seriously just go about my entire school day with these panda eyes?! No wonder people were looking at me weirdly… SO my advice is, if you want to save yourself the embarrassment, avoid this!

Now, let’s see some swatches of the products shall we? I decided to conduct some tests such as the smudging and water tests to show you guys how these products stood!

IMG_0270.JPG

Here’s how the products looked after (some quite vigorous) smudging with my finger.

IMG_0271.JPG

As you can see, the lipstick is not doing well at all and the pink has spread across my entire arm. The eyeliner has lost a bit of its pigmentation, but the eyebrow pencil is holding up!

And now after some rubbing under water…

IMG_0274.JPG

None of the colors are definitely as dark as they were before, but I have to admit, they did much better than I expected! The lipstick is has faded a lot, but the eyeliner and brow pencil are still in place and have not caused that horrible black dripping makeup effect!

Overall, I was rather impressed with NYX’s products and will definitely be back to their store to see what other goodies they have to offer! Have any of you guys tried product from NYX before? Any favorites that I should check out?

4 thoughts on “NYX Mini Makeup Haul & Reviews

    • I know right! I’m in love with nude-y lip shades! I’m so glad that I finally gave NYX a try after my friend kept raving about their affordable but good products. Thanks so much for reading!!

      Like

    • Yeah, I am also new to NYX, but decided to give it a try when my friend kept recommending it to me. I bought these from a NYX store at a mall, but I have seen NYX being sold at many drugstores and other stores like target. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Comment! ^-^

